HRH CROWN PRINCE MOULAY EL HASSAN REPRESENTS HM THE KING AT CEREMONY TO LAUNCH PORT OPERATIONS OF TANGER MED 2

On Friday, June 28th, 2019, HRH the crown Prince Moulay El Hassan represented HM King Mohammed VI, launched port operations of the new Tanger Med 2 port, allowing the platform Tanger Med Port Complex become the first capacity in the Mediterranean area.

Tanger Med is the fruit of HM King Mohammed VI’s royal vision set out during his 2003 speech revealing his wish to make Tanger Med “an integrated regional development model”. Tanger Med consolidates the Kingdom of Morocco’s anchoring in the Euro-Mediterranean area and enhances its vocation as a pole of exchange between Europe and Africa, the Mediterranean and the Atlantic, and at the same time reinforces its central role as an active and well integrated partner in terms of international exchanges and global economy

“The Tanger Med complex reflects the accomplishment of a strong-willed royal visionary ambition. The implementation site envisioned by His Majesty the King for this project, at the crossroads of maritime routes has proved to be appropriate and relevant ” said Mr. Fouad BRINI, President of Tanger Med.

Indeed, Tanger Med is located on the Strait of Gibraltar at the crossroads of the major East / West and North / South maritime routes connecting Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa.

The additional capacity of the two new Tanger Med 2 terminals is 6 million containers. The total capacity of Tanger Med is now more than 9 million containers. The extension of the mega port is pursuing the development momentum experienced in northern Morocco.

SAR Le Prince Héritier Moulay El Hassan représente SM le Roi à la cérémonie de lancement des opérations portuaires de Tanger Med 2

Le vendredi 28 juin 2019, Le Prince Héritier Moulay El Hassan, a représenté Sa Majesté le Roi Mohammed VI, à la cérémonie de lancement des opérations portuaires du nouveau port Tanger Med 2, une plateforme qui permettra d’ériger le complexe portuaire comme première capacité portuaire en Méditerranée.

Tanger Med est le fruit de la vision royale de SA Majesté le Roi Mohammed VI énoncée lors de son discours de 2003 pour faire de Tanger Med « un modèle de développement régional intégré ». Tanger Med consolide l’ancrage du Royaume du Maroc dans l’espace euro-méditerranéen et valorise sa vocation de pôle d’échanges entre l’Europe et l’Afrique, la Méditerranée et l’Atlantique, et renforce en même temps son rôle central en tant que partenaire actif dans les échanges internationaux et bien intégré à l’économie mondiale.

 

« Le complexe Tanger Med est aujourd’hui la concrétisation d’une ambition royale, volontariste et visionnaire. Le site d’implantation voulu par Sa Majesté le Roi pour ce projet, à la croisée des routes maritimes s’est révélé juste et pertinent » a déclaré M. Fouad BRINI, Président de Tanger Med.

En effet, Tanger Med est situé sur le Détroit de Gibraltar à la croisée des routes maritimes majeures Est/Ouest et Nord/Sud reliant l’Asie, l’Europe, les Amériques et l’Afrique.

La capacité additionnelle des deux nouveaux terminaux de Tanger Med 2 est de 6 millions de conteneurs. La capacité totale de Tanger Med s’élève désormais à plus de 9 millions de conteneurs. L’extension du méga port poursuit l’élan de développement que connaît le Nord du Maroc.